“Women’s History, Transformation and Embodiment”

RIVERDALE ART ASSOCIATION CELEBRATES WOMEN’S HISTORY,

TRANSFORMATION AND EMBODIMENT THE RIVERDALE ART ASSOCIATION Presents a Group Art Exhibit – “Women’s History, Transformation and Embodiment”  

The exhibit runs March through May 2017.

Riverdale Art Association artists are sharing their interpretation of these themes via watercolor, photographs, collage, and mixed media. This organization of local artists have exhibited extensively and many are award winners! 

 

The community is invited to celebrate the art at the Riverdale Yonkers Society for Ethical Culture 4450 Fieldston Road  Bronx, NY 10471 718-548- 4445.  

The exhibit is open Monday through Friday from 10 to 4 and Sundays 12:30 – 1. Telephone 718-548- 4445. Please call ahead when planning your visit.

The Riverdale Art Association is a group of local artists who also welcome the

community and new members at its meetings.  They meet the second Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. Visit  www.riverdaleartassociation.org for location and the monthly program.

Dates: 
Monday, March 13, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, March 17, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, March 20, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, March 24, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, March 27, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, March 31, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, April 3, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, April 7, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, April 10, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, April 14, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, April 17, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, April 21, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, April 24, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, April 28, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, May 1, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, May 5, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, May 8, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, May 12, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, May 15, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, May 19, 2017 - 4:00pm
Monday, May 22, 2017 - 10:00am to Friday, May 26, 2017 - 4:00pm
Venue Name: 
Riverdale Yonkers Society for Ethical Culture
Venue Address: 
4450 Fieldston Road, Bronx, NY, 10471
Cost: 
Free

STATEMENT:
Bonnie Whittingham, my painting mentor during the 1970s, painted lots of harlequins, and though my work is abstract, they left an impression. I often think of the sky as a giant canvas for all sorts of images--not only the ones that we can imagine in various cloud formations, but also those that belong to an unseen realm. This is one such transformation of the "everyday" sky. 
Harlequins, too, have undergone a transformation, of sorts. The Art Institute of Chicago explains, "Harlequin [...] was originally an oafish but agile figure from the Italian region of Bergamo, whose poverty was symbolized by a costume of multicolored patches. By the late 18th century, he had developed into a quick-witted trickster. His diamond-patterned suit now referred to his physical agility and to his multifaceted nature, at once cunning and foolish, shrewd and absurd."* I feel as though this "harlequin sky" is an ever-shifting expanse, rather like a cosmic kaleidoscope.
--Deborah Hillman